Cheryl Sigmon’s Four-Blocks Literacy

Four-Blocks is a balanced literacy framework  where the main focus  is on reading but includes all of the language arts. It is for teachers; it shows “the HOW not the WHAT”.

One of the two guiding principles behind Four Blocks is that there is not just one way to teach children to read.

“Although Four Blocks was originally created for first grade, teachers have learned to modify it appropriately to improve instruction at many grade levels. Generally, grades 1-3 adhere to the same basic formats with greater modifications necessary for upper grades, 4-8.

At kindergarten, a framework called Building Blocks provides the developmentally appropriate foundation for language, print and literacy.”

I use two of the Four Blocks concepts –the Laptop Laptop and Snap-n-Clap– as spelling activities.

I hope you find one of the many printables and handouts on the 4Blocks Literacy site useful in your classroom.


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. talibiddeenjr
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 02:29:41

    As salaamu alaykum,
    Ok, so not related to this post, but just wanted to say, I like the new design..

  2. حديقة أزهار
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 13:05:19

    wa alaykum as salaam. thanks! it needed a little bit of freshening up!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: